NIPSTA Northeastern Illinois Public Safety Training Academy
NIPSTAFirePoliceEMSPublic WorksPrivate Industry

Mission Statement  |  History  |  Master Plan  |  Members  |  Training Facilities
Campus Map | Governance | Standing Committees | Staff


To view the approved NIPSTA Regular Meeting Schedule click here

Board of Directors

The NIPSTA Board of Directors serves as the governing body that makes all final policy decisions, sets goals and objectives, and is responsible for the governance of the Academy.  The NIPSTA Board of Directors is comprised of representatives from each of the Members.

The NIPSTA Board of Directors meets bi-monthly on the NIPSTA Campus on the following dates:


February 7, 2017 @1:30 p.m. August 1, 2017 @ 1:30 p.m.
April 4, 2017 @ 1:30 p.m. October 3, 2017 @ 1:30 p.m.
June 6, 2017 @ 1:30 p.m. December 5, 2017 @ 1:30 p.m.

Meetings of the NIPSTA Board of Directors are open to all NIPSTA members and to the public.





Diana Mikula, Village of Arlington Heights

The NIPSTA President is the Chief Executive Officer of the Academy and presides at all meetings of the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee. The President also signs all resolutions and other policy statements adopted by the Board of Directors, and executes contracts entered into by the Academy with other jurisdictions or private business enterprises.


Vice President

Alan Berkowsky, Village of Winnetka

The NIPSTA Vice President serves as presiding officer in the absence of the President and represents the Academy as directed by the President or in the President’s absence.  The Vice President also chairs the Training Council, which is comprised of the chairpersons of each NIPSTA training committee.


Alan Wax, City of Des Plaines

The NIPSTA Secretary is responsible for keeping all official records of the Academy and for taking minutes of all meetings of the Board of Directors. The Secretary is the custodian of the Corporate Seal and attests the signature of corporate officials as required on necessary legal documents.


Steve Noble, Village of Northfield

The NIPSTA Treasurer is responsible for overseeing all financial operations of the Academy, including accounting for all revenues and expenditures, preparation of the annual budget, and authorization of all warrants for payment of all goods and services acquired by the Agency. The Treasurer also causes an annual audit to be completed by an independent certified public accountant.

Executive Committee

The NIPSTA Executive Committee is responsible for overseeing the Academy’s day-to-day operations, which are under the control of an appointed Executive Director. The Executive Committee also ensures the implementation of all policies established by the Board of Directors.


Current members of the NIPSTA Executive Committee:


President: Diana Mikula Village of Arlington Heights
Vice President: Alan Berkowsky Village of Winnetka
Secretary: Alan Wax City of Des Plaines
Treasurer: Steve Noble Village of Northfield
Past President: Pat Kreis Village of Winnetka
Member: Jim Walters Village of Skokie
Member: Kelly Hamill Village of Northbrook
Member: Phil Kiraly Village of Glencoe
Member: Joe Penze Village of Niles

The NIPSTA Executive Committee meets monthly on the NIPSTA Campus on the following dates:


January 10, 2017 @ 11:30 a.m. July 11, 2017 @ 11:30 a.m.
February 7, 2017 @ 11:30 a.m. August 1, 2017 @ 11:30 a.m.
March 7, 2017 @ 11:30 a.m. September 12, 2017 @ 11:30 a.m.
April 4, 2017 @ 11:30 a.m. October 3, 2017 @ 11:30 a.m.
May 2, 2017 @ 11:30 a.m. November 7, 2017 @ 11:30 a.m.
June 6, 2017 @ 11:30 a.m. December 5, 2017 @ 11:30 a.m.

Meetings of the NIPSTA Executive Committee are open to all NIPSTA members and to the public.

Click here for archived agendas.

Northeastern Illinois Public Safety Training Academy
2300 Patriot Boulevard Glenview, IL 60026
Phone: 847-998-8090 • Fax: 847-998-8091

About NIPSTAJoin NIPSTATraining FacilitiesTravel & LodgingThe NIPSTA Foundation
FirePoliceEMSPublic WorksPrivate Industry